2020 Rhysling Award Winners

The Science Fiction & Fantasy Poetry Association (SFPA) has announced the winners of the annual Rhysling Awards for SF, fantasy, and horror poetry in short and long form categories. This year’s winners are:


First Place
Taking, Keeping“, Jessica J. Horowitz (Apparition Lit 1/19)

Second Place
when my father reprograms my mother {“, Caroline Mao (Strange Horizons Fund Drive 2019)

Third Place (tie)
“The Day the Animals Turned to Sand”, Tyler Hagemann (Amazing Stories Spring 2019)
“Creation: Dark Matter Dating App”, Sandra J. Lindow (Asimov’s 7-8/19)


First Place
“Heliobacterium daphnephilum”, Rebecca Buchanan (Star*Line Summer 2019)

Second Place
The Cinder Girl Burns Brightly“, Theodora Goss (Uncanny 5-6/19)

Third Place (tie)
“The Macabre Modern”, Kyla Lee Ward (The Macabre Modern and Other Morbidities)
Ode to the Artistic Temperament“, Michael H. Payne (Silver Blade Spring 2019)

Winners are chosen by the members of the SFPA. For more information, see the SFPA website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

One thought on “2020 Rhysling Award Winners

  • June 28, 2020 at 6:10 pm

    Is this a Gender Award….



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *