Woodson Wins Andersen Award

The International Board on Books for Young People awarded the 2020 Hans Christian Anderson Award to author Jacqueline Woodson. Awarded biyearly, the Hans Christian Anderson Awards “recognize lifelong achievement and are given to an author and an illustrator whose complete works have made an important, lasting contribution to children’s literature.” Woodson’s work of genre interest includes Harbor Me (2018) and “The Other Half of Me” in Tomorrowland: Ten Stories about the Future (1999).

The 2020 jurors were Mariella Bertelli, Denis Beznosov, Tina Bilban, Yasuko Doi, Nadia El Kholy, Viviane Ezratty, Eva Kaliskami, Robin Morrow, Cecilia Ana Repetti, Ulla Rhedin, and Junko Yokota (chair).

For more information, see the IBBY website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

One thought on “Woodson Wins Andersen Award

  • May 22, 2020 at 3:33 pm

    What a goshdarned coincidence.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *