2019 Australian Shadows Awards Finalists

Finalists for the 2019 Australian Shadows Awards have been announced. The award is given by the Australian Horror Writers Association (AHWA) for “the finest in horror and dark fiction published by an Australasian within the calendar year.”

Best Novel

Best Short Fiction

Best Collected Work

Best Edited Work

Paul Haines Award for Long Fiction

Best Poetry

  • “Separation”, Jay Caselberg (The Literary Hatchet #23)
  • “Please Do Not Feed the Animals”, Anne Casey (out of emptied cups)
  • “Ode to a Black Hole”, Charles Lovecraft (Spectral Realms Winter ’19)
  • “Brine and Vanishings”, Hester J. Rook (Liminality #21)
  • “Taxonomy of Captured Roses”, Hester J. Rook (Kaleidotrope Autumn ’19)
  • “Boat of a Million Years”, Kyla Lee Ward (The Macabre Modern and Other Morbidities)

Rocky Wood Award for Non-Fiction and Criticism

Best Graphic Novel

  • “Geebung Polo Club”, Jason Fischer & Shauna O’Meara (Skellington #1)
  • “Matinee”, Emmet O’Cuana & David Parsons (Something Wicked 2019)
  • The Eldritch Kid: The Bone War, Christian D. Read & Paul Mason (Gestalt)
  • DCeased, Tom Taylor & Trevor Hairsine (DC)

For more information, see the AHWA website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *