2019 Dwarf Stars and Elgin Awards Winners

The Science Fiction Poetry Association has announced the 2019 Dwarf Stars and Elgin Awards winners.

The Dwarf Stars Award is given by the SFPA to recognize the best speculative poem of one to ten lines published in the previous year. Winners will have their work reprinted in the 2019 Dwarf Stars Anthology, edited by John C. Mannone.

The Elgin Award is presented for the best poetry chapbook and the best full-length poetry book in the speculative genre. The Elgin Awards are named after the founder of SFPA, Suzette Haden Elgin and were chaired in 2019 by Charles Christian.


Full-Length Book

  • First Place: War, Marge Simon & Alessandro Manzetti (Crystal Lake)
  • Second Place: Artifacts, Bruce Boston (Independent Legions)
  • Third Place: Witch Wife, Kiki Petrosino (Sarabande)

For more information, see the SFPA website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *