1944 Retro Hugo Awards Winners

Winners for the 1944 Retro Hugo Awards, honoring work from 1943, were announced by Dublin 2019, the 77th Worldcon, during a ceremony held August 15, 2019 at the Convention Centre Dublin in Dublin Ireland.

Best Novel

  • WINNER: Conjure Wife, Fritz Leiber, Jr. (Unknown Worlds 4/43)
  • Das Glasperlenspiel [The Glass Bead Game], Hermann Hesse (Fretz & Wasmuth)
  • Gather, Darkness!, Fritz Leiber, Jr. (Astounding Science-Fiction 5/43-7/43)
  • Perelandra, C.S. Lewis (John Lane, The Bodley Head)
  • Earth’s Last Citadel, C.L. Moore & Henry Kuttner (Argosy 4/43)
  • The Weapon Makers, A.E. van Vogt (Astounding Science-Fiction 2/43-4/43)

Best Novella

  • WINNER: The Little Prince, Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (Reynal & Hitchcock)
  • “We Print the Truth”, Anthony Boucher (Astounding Science-Fiction 12/43)
  • “Attitude”, Hal Clement (Astounding Science-Fiction 9/43)
  • “The Dream-Quest of Unknown Kadath”, H.P. Lovecraft (Beyond the Wall of Sleep)
  • The Magic Bed-Knob; or, How to Become a Witch in Ten Easy Lessons, Mary Norton (Hyperion)
  • “Clash by Night”, Lawrence O’Donnell (C.L. Moore & Henry Kuttner) (Astounding Science-Fiction 3/43)

Best Novelette

  • WINNER: “Mimsy Were the Borogoves”, Lewis Padgett (C.L. Moore & Henry Kuttner) (Astounding Science-Fiction 2/43)
  • “Citadel of Lost Ships”, Leigh Brackett (Planet Stories 3/43)
  • “The Halfling”, Leigh Brackett (Astonishing Stories 2/43)
  • “Thieves’ House”, Fritz Leiber, Jr (Unknown Worlds 2/43)
  • “The Proud Robot”, Lewis Padgett (Henry Kuttner) (Astounding Science-Fiction 10/43)
  • “Symbiotica”, Eric Frank Russell (Astounding Science-Fiction 10/43)

Best Short Story

  • WINNER: “King of the Gray Spaces” (AKA “R is for Rocket”), Ray Bradbury (Famous Fantastic Mysteries 12/43)
  • “Death Sentence”, Isaac Asimov (Astounding Science Fiction 11/43)
  • “Yours Truly – Jack the Ripper”, Robert Bloch (Weird Tales 7/43)
  • “Exile”, Edmond Hamilton (Super Science Stories 5/43)
  • “Q.U.R.”, H.H. Holmes (Anthony Boucher) (Astounding Science-Fiction 3/43)
  • “Doorway into Time”, C.L. Moore (Famous Fantastic Mysteries 9/43)

Best Graphic Story

  • WINNER: Wonder Woman #5: “Battle for Womanhood”, William Marsden & Harry G. Peter (DC Comics)
  • Plastic Man #1: “The Game of Death”, Jack Cole (Vital Publications)
  • Garth, Steve Dowling (Daily Mirror)
  • Le Secret de la Licorne [The Secret of the Unicorn], Hergé (Le Soir)
  • Buck Rogers: “Martians Invade Jupiter”, Philip Nowlan & Dick Calkins (National Newspaper Service)
  • Flash Gordon: “Fiery Desert of Mongo”, Alex Raymond (King Features Syndicate)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

  • WINNER: Heaven Can Wait
  • Batman
  • Cabin in the Sky
  • A Guy Named Joe
  • Münchhausen
  • Phantom of the Opera

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

  • WINNER: Frankenstein Meets the Wolfman
  • The Ape Man
  • Der Fuehrer’s Face
  • I Walked with a Zombie
  • The Seventh Victim
  • Super-Rabbit

Best Professional Editor, Short Form

  • WINNER: John W. Campbell
  • Oscar J. Friend
  • Mary Gnaedinger
  • Dorothy McIlwraith
  • Raymond A. Palmer
  • Donald A. Wollheim

Best Professional Artist

  • WINNER: Virgil Finlay
  • Hannes Bok
  • Margaret Brundage
  • Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
  • J. Allen St. John
  • William Timmins

Best Fanzine

  • WINNER: Le Zombie
  • Fantasy News [disqualified]
  • Futurian War Digest
  • Guteto [added to ballot 7/21/2019]
  • The Phantagraph
  • Voice of the Imagi-Nation
  • YHOS

Best Fan Writer

  • WINNER: Forrest J Ackerman
  • Morojo (Myrtle Douglas)
  • Jack Speer
  • Wilson “Bob” Tucker
  • Art Widner
  • Donald A. Wollheim

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction Fantasy

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction Fantasy

While you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *