2019 Eisner Awards

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyThe 2019 Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards were announced at Comic-Con International in San Diego on July 29, 2019. Winners of SF/F interest include:

Best Single Issue/One-Shot

Best Limited Series

  • Mister Miracle, Tom King & Mitch Gerads (DC)

Best New Series

  • Gideon Falls, Jeff Lemire & Andrea Sorrentino (Image)

Best Short Story

Best Publication for Kids (ages 9-12)

Best Graphic Album—Reprint

  • The Vision, Tom King, Gabriel Hernandez Walta & Michael Walsh (Marvel)

Best Adaptation from Another Medium

Best Archival Collection/Project—Strips

Best Archival Collection/Project—Comic Books

Best Writer

Best Penciller/Inker

  • Mitch Gerads for Mister Miracle (DC)

Best Painter/Multimedia Artist (interior art)

  • Dustin Nguyen for Descender (Image)

Best Cover Artist (for multiple covers)

  • Jen Bartel for Blackbird (Image) and Submerged (Vault)

Best Coloring

  • Matt Wilson for Black Cloud, Paper Girls, The Wicked + The Divine (Image); The Mighty Thor, and Runaways (Marvel)

Best Lettering

Best Digital Comic

  • Umami, Ken Niimura (Panel Syndicate)

Eisner Hall of Fame Inductees

Judges’ Choices

  • Jim Aparo
  • June Tarpé Mills
  • Dave Stevens
  • Morrie Turner

Voted in

  • Jose Luis Garcia-Lopez
  • Jenette Kahn
  • Paul Levitz
  • Wendy & Richard Pini
  • Bill Sienkiewicz

For more information, and the complete list of winners, see the Comic-Con website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *