Spectrum 26 Awards Winners

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyThe 2019 Spectrum Awards winners have been announced.


  • Gold Award: “Annihilation variant”, Greg Ruth
  • Silver Award: “After the Flood”, Valentin Kopetzki
  • “Lair of the Firebreather”, Justin Gerard
  • “Reach”, Donato Giancola
  • “Earth Species Project”, Victo Ngai


  • Gold Award: “Charlie Florida”, Francis Vallejo
  • Silver Award: “Dragon Lords: Bad Faith”, Chase Stone
  • “Winter Road”, Jaime Jones
  • “I Am the Light”, Vanessa Lemen
  • “Japanese Tales 1: The Invisible Man”, Yuko Shimizu


  • Gold Award: Castle in the Stars: Book 4, page 1, Alex Alice
  • Silver Award: The Thousand Demon Tree, Jeffrey Alan Love
  • Cover for Joe Shuster: The Artist Behind Superman, Thomas Campi
  • Blue Vortex 1, Paul Davidson
  • Kang Hearts Out 1, Kang Minjung

Concept Art

  • Gold Award: “Submerged Statue of Tyr”, Abe Taraky
  • Silver Award: “The Banner Saga 3: Juno in the Black Sun”, Danny Moll
  • “Golden Temple Through Time We Converge: End”, Te Hu
  • “Dwarf”, Carlyn Lim
  • “Big Hunt”, Zhengyi Wang


  • Gold Award: “Reflection”, Patrick Masson
  • Silver Award: “SwampThing”, Paul Komoda
  • “Vivicus”, Matthew Corcoran
  • “Gallevarbe”, Mark Newman
  • “Justice”, Dug Stanat


  • Gold Award: “The Remains”, Qiuxin Mao
  • Silver Award: “How to Collect Customer Feedback the Right Way”, Leonardo Santamaria
  • “Structure”, Chris Buzelli
  • “Human: Opener”, Victo Ngai
  • “Stormy”, Tim O’Brien


  • Gold Award: “Slippery Bogle”, Jesper Ejsing
  • Silver Award: “The Nights Watch”, John Jude Palencar
  • “Mantis”, Ed Binkley
  • “Etrata”, Bastien Lecouffe Deharme
  • “Opt”, Tyler Jacobson


  • Gold Award: “A Walk in the Woods”, Konstantin Marinov Kostadinov
  • Silver Award: “The Serpent”, Annie Stegg Gerard
  • “The Stranger”, Julien Delval
  • “Sent by the Gods”, Ronan Le Fur
  • “Racing Season in Empire City”, Eric Pfeiffer

Spectrum 2019 Grand Master

  • Donato Giancola

Spectrum 2019 Rising Star

  • Gawki

Judges for 2019 were Kei Acedera, Wesley Burt, Bobby Chiu, Edward Kinsella III, and Colin & Kristine Poole. Winners were announced at the Spectrum 26 Awards Ceremony, March 30, 2019, at the Folly Theater in Kansas City, MO. For more information, including images of the nominated art, see the Flesk and Spectrum Fantastic Art blog.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *