HWA Awards

The Horror Writers Association (HWA) has announced the recipients of three awards for 2018.

JG Faherty is the winner of the 2018 Mentor of the Year Award. Introduced in 2014, the Award “recognizes one mentor in the Mentor Program who has done an outstanding job of helping newer writers” and is chosen by the current chair of the mentor program.

Jess Landry is the winner of the 2018 Silver Hammer Award, presented “in recognition of extraordinary volunteerism by a member who dedicates valuable time and effort to the organization” and chosen by HWA’s Board of Trustees.

The 2018 Richard Laymon President’s Award, “presented to a member who has served HWA in an exemplary manner and shown exceptional dedication to the organization,” will go to Brad Hodson. HWA president Lisa Morton said, “The definition of this award states that it goes to an especially dedicated volunteer, while Brad is our only full-time employee. However, I figure that what Brad puts in every week goes so far beyond the forty hours we pay him for that he’s surely our hardest working volunteer as well. HWA owes much of its growth to him, and this recognition is long overdue.”

Winners of the Specialty Press and Lifetime Achievement Awards, as well as the Stoker Ballot, were announced earlier this year.

The awards will be presented during StokerCon 2019, to be held May 9-12, 2019 at the Amway Plaza Hotel in Grand Rapids MI. For more information, see the HWA website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction Fantasy

While you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *