2019 Oregon Book Awards Winners

The 2019 Oregon Book Awards have been announced, with winners and finalists of genre interest.

Red Clocks by Leni Zumas (Little, Brown) won the Ken Kesey Award for Fiction. The Maw by Taylor Zajonc (Skyhorse) was a fiction award finalist. Judges were Kim Fu, J. Robert Lennon, and Hannah Pittard.

The Wicked Deep by Shea Ernshaw (Simon & Schuster) won the Leslie Bradshaw Award for Young Adult Literature. Finalists included Cross Fire by Fonda Lee (Scholastic) and This Mortal Coil by Emily Suvada (Simon & Schuster). Judges were Donna Freitas, Ashley Pérez, and Kathryn Reiss.

The Turning by Emily Whitman (Greenwillow) won the Eloise Jarvis McGraw Award for Children’s Literature, judged by Ashyln Anstee, Ben Clanton, and Linda Elovitz Marshall.

Winners each receive $1,000 and were honored at a ceremony on April 22, 2019 at Gerding Theater at the Armory in Portland OR. For more information, see the Literary Arts website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *