2019 Hugo and Campbell Awards Finalists

Finalists for the Hugo Awards and for the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer have been announced by Dublin 2019, the 77th Worldcon, to be held August 15-19, 2019 at the Convention Centre Dublin in Dublin Ireland. 1,800 valid nominating ballots (1,797 electronic and three paper) were received and counted from members of Dublin 2019 and Worldcon 76. Nominating ballot information for individual categories has not been released.

Best Novel

Best Novella

Best Novelette

Best Short Story

Best Series

  • Wayfarers, Becky Chambers (Harper Voyager US; Hodder & Stoughton)
  • The Universe of Xuya, Aliette de Bodard (Subterranean)
  • Machineries of Empire, Yoon Ha Lee (Solaris)
  • The October Daye series, Seanan McGuire (DAW)
  • The Centenal Cycle, Malka Older (Tor)
  • The Laundry Files, Charles Stross (Tor.com Publishing; Orbit)

Best Graphic Story

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

  • Annihilation
  • Avengers: Infinity War
  • Black Panther
  • A Quiet Place
  • Sorry to Bother You
  • Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

  • Doctor Who: “Demons of the Punjab”
  • Doctor Who: “Rosa”
  • Dirty Computer, Janelle Monáe
  • The Expanse: “Abaddon’s Gate”
  • The Good Place: “Janet(s)”
  • The Good Place: “Jeremy Bearimy”

Best Related Work

Best Professional Editor, Short Form

  • Neil Clarke
  • Gardner Dozois
  • Lee Harris
  • Julia Rios
  • Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas
  • E. Catherine Tobler

Best Professional Editor, Long Form

  • Sheila E. Gilbert
  • Anne Lesley Groell
  • Beth Meacham
  • Diana Pho
  • Gillian Redfearn
  • Navah Wolfe

Best Professional Artist

  • Galen Dara
  • Jaime Jones
  • Victo Ngai
  • John Picacio
  • Yuko Shimizu
  • Charles Vess

Best Semiprozine

Best Fanzine

Best Fancast

Best Fan Writer

  • Foz Meadows
  • James Davis Nicoll
  • Charles Payseur
  • Elsa Sjunneson-Henry
  • Alasdair Stuart
  • Bogi Takács

Best Fan Artist

  • Sara Felix
  • Grace P. Fong
  • Meg Frank
  • Ariela Housman
  • Likhain (Mia Sereno)
  • Spring Schoenhuth

Best Art Book

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (not a Hugo)

  • Katherine Arden
  • S.A. Chakraborty
  • R.F. Kuang
  • Jeannette Ng
  • Vina Jie-Min Prasad
  • Rivers Solomon

Lodestar Award for Best Young Adult Book

The final ballot to select this year’s winners will open in April 2019, and will be open to all members of Dublin 2019. The winners will be announced at a ceremony at the convention Sunday evening, August 18, 2019.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction Fantasy

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

3 thoughts on “2019 Hugo and Campbell Awards Finalists

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *