2019 World Fantasy Awards Judges Announced

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyThe judges for the 2019 World Fantasy Awards have been empaneled. All forms of fantasy qualify. Only living authors and editors are eligible. All books must have a 2018 publication date, and all magazines a 2018 cover date.

The judges will read and consider eligible materials between now and June 1, 2019 (the earlier, the better). To be considered for awards, all materials must be received by all five judges and Peter Dennis Pautz by June 1, 2019. Per the official announcement, “If… something is received on May 31 the judges may well have only one day to read it before their deliberations conclude. Anything received after June 1 will receive little or no consideration.”

The judges are:

Nancy Holder
5706 Kuhn Street
Port Townsend WA 98368
Prefers audiobooks, PDF, hard copy

Kathleen Jennings
PO Box 1392
Oxley Qld 4075
Prefers hard copy, MOBI

Stephen Graham Jones
Dept English
226 UCB
Boulder CO 80309
Prefers audible.com submissions, hard copy, MOBI, audiobooks

Garry Douglas Kilworth
Gate Lodge, Church Road
Ipswich, Suffolk
Prefers DOC, hard copy, MOBI

Tod McCoy
2850 SW Yancy Street #106
Seattle WA 98126
Prefers hard copy, PDF, MOBI

Judges’ order of preference is listed above. Packages should be labeled “Promotional materials — not for sale or resale — no commercial value — World Fantasy Awards materials.” A copy should also go to:

Peter Dennis Pautz, President
World Fantasy Awards Association
8050 Mukilteo Speedway, #43
Mukilteo WA 98275-0043

All forms of fantasy are eligible, e.g. high, epic, dark, contemporary, literary. Categories: Life Achievement; Best Novel; Best Novella (10,001 to 40,000 words); Best Short Story; Best Anthology; Best Collection; Best Artist; Special Award—Professional; Special Award—Non-Professional. A word count should be included for works shorter than novel lengths, for the judges’ benefit. Please note that the nominees in the Life Achievement category will not be released, though the winners will be announced well before the awards banquet. All questions pertaining to the convention should be directed to the convention chair.

The awards will be presented at the World Fantasy Convention, October 31 – November 3, 2019 at the Marriott Los Angeles Airport in Los Angeles, CA. See the World Fantasy 2019 site or the World Fantasy convention home page for more.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue.

One thought on “2019 World Fantasy Awards Judges Announced

  • October 15, 2019 at 10:53 am

    What about the 2020 judges? My novel was published Nov.27, 2019 so I missed the 2019 but how do I enter my novel for the 2020? There is no clear answer here on how to submit works for the awards.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *