2018 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards Winners

The Prime Minister and Arts Minister of Australia announced the winners for the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards on December 5, 2018. The awards “celebrate outstanding literary talent in Australia and the valuable contribution Australian literature and history makes to the nation’s cultural and intellectual life.” The winner receives A$80,000 and each runner-up gets A$5,000. Winner and finalists of genre interest include:


Awards were also given in young adult, poetry, non-fiction, Australian history, and children’s fiction categories. Finalists were selected by a panel of 12 judges, with the Prime Minister making the final decision. This year’s fiction judges were Sarah Holland-Batt, Bronwyn Lea (chair), James Ley, Kathy Shand, and Susan Wyndham.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *