2018 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards Shortlists

The Prime Minister and Arts Minister of Australia announced the shortlists for the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards on October 17, 2018. The awards “celebrate outstanding literary talent in Australia and the valuable contribution Australian literature and history makes to the nation’s cultural and intellectual life.” The winner receives A$80,000 and each runner-up gets A$5,000. Finalists of genre interest follow.


Young Adult Fiction

Awards are also given in poetry, non-fiction, Australian history, and children’s fiction categories. Finalists are selected by a panel of 12 judges, and the Prime Minister makes the final decision. This year’s fiction judges are Sarah Holland-Batt, Bronwyn Lea (chair), James Ley, Kathy Shand, and Susan Wyndham. Young adult fiction judges are Robyn Ewing, Margot Hillel (chair), Joy Lawn, Kerry Neary, and Sue Whiting. Winners will be announced later this year.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *