2018 National Book Awards Winners

Winners for the 2018 National Book Awards have been announced and include authors and works of genre interest.

Isabel Allende received the Distinguished Contribution to American Letters lifetime achievement award, presented by author Luís Alberto Urrea.


Young People’s Literature

  • WINNER: The Poet X, Elizabeth Acevedo (HarperTeen)

Translated Literature

  • WINNER: The Emissary, Yoko Tawada, translated by Margaret Mitsutani (New Directions)
  • Disoriental, Négar Djavadi, translated by Tina Kover (Europa Editions)
  • Flights, Olga Tokarczuk, translated by Jennifer Croft (Riverhead)

The 2018 fiction judges were Chris Bachelder, Laila Lalami (chair), Min Jin Lee, Laurie Muchnick, and Chinelo Okparanta. The 2018 Young People’s Literature judges were Robin Benway (chair), Lamar Giles, Grace Worcester Greene, Valerie Koehler, and Mitali Perkins. The 2018 Translated Literature judges were Karen Maeda Allman, Sinan Antoon, Harold Augenbraum (chair), Susan Bernofsky, and Álvaro Enrigue. Awards were also given in poetry and nonfiction categories.

Each finalist receives a prize of $1,000, a medal, and a citation; each of the category winners receives $10,000 and a bronze sculpture. Winners were announced at a ceremony and benefit dinner at the Cipriani Wall Street in New York NY on November 14, 2018. For more information, see the National Book Foundation website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *