1943 Retro Hugo Awards Winners

Winners for the 1943 Retro Hugo Awards, honoring work from 1942, were announced by Worldcon 76, during an award ceremony held at the San Jose McEnery Convention Center in San Jose CA:

Best Novel

WINNER: Beyond This Horizon, Anson MacDonald (Robert A. Heinlein) (Astounding Science-Fiction 4-5/42)

  • The Uninvited, Dorothy Macardle (Doubleday, Doran/S.J.R. Saunders)
  • Donovan’s Brain, Curt Siodmak (Black Mask 9-11/42)
  • Second Stage Lensmen, E. E. “Doc” Smith (Astounding Science-Fiction 11/41-2/42)
  • Darkness and the Light, Olaf Stapledon (Methuen/S.J.R. Saunders)
  • Islandia, Austin Tappan Wright (Farrar & Rinehart)

Best Novella

WINNER: “Waldo”, by Anson MacDonald (Robert A. Heinlein) (Astounding Science-Fiction 8/42)

  • “Hell is Forever”, Alfred Bester (Unknown Worlds 8/42)
  • “The Compleat Werewolf”, Anthony Boucher (Unknown Worlds 4/42)
  • “Nerves”, Lester del Rey (Astounding Science-Fiction 9/42)
  • “The Unpleasant Profession of Jonathan Hoag”, John Riverside (Robert A. Heinlein) (Unknown Worlds 10/42)
  • “Asylum”, by A.E. van Vogt (Astounding Science-Fiction 5/42)

Best Novelette

WINNER: “Foundation”, Isaac Asimov (Astounding Science-Fiction 5/42)

  • “Bridle and Saddle”, Isaac Asimov (Astounding Science-Fiction 6/42)
  • “The Star Mouse”, Fredric Brown (Planet Stories, Spring ’42)
  • “Goldfish Bowl”, Anson MacDonald (Robert A. Heinlein) (Astounding Science-Fiction 3/42)
  • “There Shall Be Darkness”, C.L. Moore (Astounding Science-Fiction 2/42)
  • “The Weapon Shop”, A.E. van Vogt (Astounding Science-Fiction 12/42)

Best Short Story

WINNER: “The Twonky”, C.L. Moore & Henry Kuttner (Astounding Science-Fiction 9/42)

  • “Runaround”, Isaac Asimov (Astounding Science-Fiction 3/42)
  • “Etaoin Shrdlu”, Fredric Brown (Unknown Worlds 2/42)
  • “Proof”, Hal Clement (Astounding Science-Fiction 6/42)
  • “The Sunken Land”, Fritz Leiber (Unknown Worlds 2/42)
  • “Mimic”, Martin Pearson (Donald A. Wollheim) (Astonishing Stories 12/42)

Best Dramatic Presentation


  • Cat People
  • The Ghost of Frankenstein
  • I Married a Witch
  • Invisible Agent
  • Rudyard Kipling’s Jungle Book

Best Editor

WINNER: John W. Campbell

  • Oscar J. Friend
  • Dorothy McIlwraith
  • Raymond A. Palmer
  • Malcolm Reiss
  • Donald A. Wollheim

Best Professional Artist

WINNER: Virgil Finlay

  • Hannes Bok
  • Margaret Brundage
  • Edd Cartier
  • Harold W. McCauley
  • Hubert Rogers

Best Fanzine

WINNER: Le Zombie

  • Futurian War Digest
  • Inspiration
  • The Phantagraph
  • Spaceways
  • Voice of the Imagi-Nation

Best Fan Writer

WINNER: Forrest J Ackerman

  • Jack Speer
  • Arthur Wilson ‘‘Bob’’ Tucker
  • Harry Warner, Jr.
  • Art Widner
  • Donald A. Wollheim

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction Fantasy


Locus Magazine, Science Fiction Fantasy

While you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

One thought on “1943 Retro Hugo Awards Winners

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *