The New Academy Prize in Literature

Swedish journalist Alexandra Pascalidou has founded The New Academy Prize in Literature with the intent of providing an international literature award since the 2018 Nobel Prize in Literature is not being awarded. The New Academy plans to dissolve on December 11, 2018. A longlist of 47 authors nominated by Swedish librarians has been announced, and includes several writers of genre interest:

  • Margaret Atwood
  • Paul Auster
  • Maryse Condé
  • Don DeLillo
  • Kerstin Ekman
  • Neil Gaiman
  • Jamaica Kincaid
  • David Levithan
  • Cormac McCarthy
  • Ian McEwan
  • Haruki Murakami
  • Joyce Carol Oates
  • Nnedi Okorafor
  • Sofi Oksanen
  • Thomas Pynchon
  • Meg Rosoff
  • J.K. Rowling
  • Ngugi wa Thiong’o
  • Jeanette Winterson

Voting for finalists is open to the public until August 14, 2018. The winner will be chosen by an expert jury and announced on October 14, 2018. The one million kronor (around $112,000) prize will be presented at a formal event on December 10, 2018. The jury consists of Lisbeth Larsson, Ann Pålsson (president of the jury), Gunilla Sandin, and Peter Stenson.

For more information, including a complete list of nominees, see their official website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *