2018 Campbell and Sturgeon Awards Winners

The Genius Plague by David Walton (Pyr) is this year’s John W. Campbell Memorial Award winner for the best science fiction novel published in 2017, and “Don’t Press Charges and I Won’t Sue” by Charlie Jane Anders (Global Dystopias) is the winner of the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for the best short fiction of 2017.

Other finalists were:

John W. Campbell Memorial Award

Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award

  • “Zen and the Art of Starship Maintenance”, Tobias S. Buckell (Cosmic Powers)
  • “The Discrete Charm of the Turing Machine”, Greg Egan (Asimov’s 11-12/17)
  • “Sidewalks”, Maureen McHugh (Omni 11/17)
  • “The Martian Obelisk”, Linda Nagata (Tor.com 7/17)
  • “The Secret Life of Bots”, Suzanne Palmer (Clarkesworld 9/17)
  • “And Then There Were (N‑One)”, Sarah Pinsker (Uncanny 3/17)
  • “Fandom for Robots”, Vina Jie‑Min Prasad (Uncanny 9/17)
  • “A Series of Steaks”, Vina Jie-Min Prasad (Clarkesworld 1/17)
  • “Welcome to Your Authentic Indian ExperienceTM“, Rebecca Roanhorse (Apex 8/17)
  • “We Who Live in the Heart”, Kelly Robson (Clarkesworld 5/17)

The awards were presented during the Campbell Conference Awards Banquet, held June 22-24, 2018 at the University of Kansas in Lawrence KS.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *