2018 Sir Julius Vogel Award Winners

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWinners for the 2018 Sir Julius Vogel Award were announced by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand (SFFANZ). Winners were honored at Conclave3, March 30 – April 2, 2018 at the Surrey Hotel in Auckland, New Zealand.

Best Novel

Best Youth Novel

Best Novella/Novelette

Best Short Story

  • WINNER: “Crimson Birds of Small Miracles”, Sean Monaghan (Asimov’s 1-2/17)
  • “Earthcore: Initiation”, Grace Bridges (self-published)
  • “Syren Song”, A.C. Buchanan (Kaleidotrope Summer ’17)
  • “The Stone Weta”, Octavia Cade (Clarkesworld 8/17)
  • “From the Womb of the Land, Our Bones Entwined”, A.J. Fitzwater (Pacific Monsters)

Best Collected Work

Best Professional Artwork

  • WINNER: Cover for Kevin Berry’s Teleport, Kate Strawbridge (self-published)

Best Professional Production/Publication

  • WINNER: Mistlands, Laya Rose (self-published)
  • Breach

Best Dramatic Presentation

  • WINNER: The Changeover
  • The Cul de Sac, season 2
  • One Thousand Ropes

Best New Talent

  • WINNER: Gareth Ward
  • Barbara Howe
  • Mark Johnson
  • J. Rackham

Services to Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror

  • WINNER: Darian Smith
  • Andi Buchanan

Best Fan Production/Publication

  • WINNER: LexiCon convention booklet
  • Phoenixine
  • Summer Star Trek: Journey to Babel

Best Fan Writing

  • WINNER: “Pass the Rules”, Jo Toon (Phoenixine)
  • “SITREP”, Alex Lindsay (Phoenixine)

Best Fan Artwork

  • WINNER: John Toon, contributions to Phoenixine and LexiCon convention booklet

Services to Fandom

  • WINNER: Jan Butterworth

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction Fantasy

While you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *