2018 Ditmar Award Winners

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyThe 2018 Ditmar Award winners for Australian SF have been announced:

Best Novel

Best Novella or Novelette

Best Short Story

Best Collected Work

  • WINNER: Ecopunk!, Cat Sparks & Liz Grzyb (Ticonderoga)

Best Artwork

Best Fan Publication in Any Medium

  • WINNER: SF Commentary, Bruce Gillespie, ed.
  • No Award, Liz Barr & Stephanie Lai
  • Earl Grey Editing, Elizabeth Fitzgerald
  • Galactic Suburbia, Alisa Krasnostein, Alexandra Pierce & Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • The Writer and the Critic, Kirstyn McDermott & Ian Mond

Best Fan Writer

  • WINNER: Stephanie Lai
  • Liz Barr
  • Leigh Edmonds
  • Elizabeth Fitzgerald

Best Fan Artist

  • WINNER: Shauna O’Meara

Best New Talent

  • WINNER: Stephanie Lai
  • Clarie G. Coleman

William Atheling Jr Award for Criticism or Review

  • WINNER: “Reflecting on Indigenous Worlds, Indigenous Futurisms and Artificial Intelligence”, Ambelin Kwaymullina (Mother of Invention)

A. Bertram Chandler Award for Outstanding Achievement in Science Fiction

  • Edwina Harvey

Winners were announced at the 2018 Australian National SF Convention (Swancon 43) held March 29 – April 2, 2018 at the Pan Pacific Perth in Perth, Australia.

[Edited 4/16/18 to add the winner of the A. Bertram Chandler Award]

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction Fantasy

While you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *