Windham-Campbell Prize Winners

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyFiction writers John Keene and Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi are among the eight winners of the Windham-Campbell Prize and will each receive “an unrestricted grant” of $165,000.

The Donald Windham-Sandy M. Campbell Literature Prize was established “to call attention to literary achievement and provide writers with the opportunity to focus on their work independent of financial concerns.” The prize is administered by Yale University, with a new nominating committee every year, and a jury choosing eight winners from those nominees. Authors are not told if they are under consideration before the prizes are announced.

Winners will be honored at a literary festival at Yale on September 12, 2018. For more information, including the full list of recipients, see the Windham-Campbell Prize website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction Fantasy

While you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *