2018 Jim Baen Memorial Award Winner

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyBaen Books has announced the winner of the 2018 Jim Baen Memorial Short Story Award:

  • Grand Prize: “Homunculus”, Stephen Lawson
  • First runner-up: “Dangerous Company”, C Stuart Hardwick
  • Second runner-up: “Falling to the Moon”, Wendy Nikel

Other finalists include:

  • Stewart C Baker
  • Gustavo Bondoni
  • Jonathan Edelstein
  • Angus McIntyre
  • Julie Novakova
  • Patrice Sarath
  • Martin L. Shoemaker

The winning story will be featured on the Baen website. The author will be given a trophy, paid a professional rate, and receive free admission into the 2018 International Space Development Conference and a year’s membership in the National Space Society, as well as an assortment of Baen Books and National Space Society merchandise. The grand prize will be presented at the 2018 International Space Development Conference to be held May 24-27, 2018 at the Sheraton Gateway Hotel in Los Angeles CA.

For more information, including the lists of past winners, see the official award webpage.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction Fantasy

While you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *