2018 SFRA Awards

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyThe Science Fiction Research Association (SFRA) has announced the winners of several of its awards:

Mary Kay Bray award for best essay, interview, or extended review to appear in the SFRA Review

  • Hugh C. O’Connell for his review of Jack Fennell’s Irish Science Fiction

Thomas D. Clareson award for distinguished service

  • Veronica Hollinger

Pilgrim Award for lifetime contribution to SF and Fantasy scholarship

  • Carl Freedman

Pioneer Award for best critical essay-length work of the year

  • “The Political Economy of Potato Farming in Andy Weir’s The Martian“, Thomas Strychacz (Science Fiction Studies 3/17)

Student Paper Award for outstanding scholarly essay

  • WINNER: “New Weird Frankenworlds: Speaking and Laboring Worlds in Cisco’s Internet of Everything”, Josh Pearson
  • HONORABLE MENTION: “Towards a Time Travel Aesthetic: Writing-between-worlds in Okorafor, Butler, and Baledosingh”, Kylie Kornsnack

Winners will be honored during the SFRA Annual Conference 2018 to be held July 1-4, 2018 at the Marquette University in Milwaukee WI. For more information, see the SFRA website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction Fantasy

While you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *