National Book Awards Finalists

Finalists for the National Book Awards (NBA) have been announced. The shortlist for the Fiction category includes Her Body and Other Parties: Stories by Carmen Maria Machado (Graywolf), and the shortlist for the Young People’s Literature category includes American Street by Ibi Zoboi (Balzer + Bray).

Each finalist will receive a prize of $1,000, a medal, and a citation; each of the four category winners will receive $10,000 and a bronze sculpture. Winners will be announced at a ceremony and benefit dinner in New York on November 15, 2017.

The 2017 Fiction judges are Alexander Chee, Dave Eggers, Annie Philbrick, Karolina Waclawiak, and Jacqueline Woodson (chair). The 2017 Young People’s Literature judges are Suzanna Hermans, Brendan Kiely, Kekla Magoon, Meg Medina (chair), and Alex Sanchez.

For more information, including announcement dates and the complete list of finalists, see the National Book Foundation site.