2017 Hugo and Campbell Awards Winners

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWinners for the Hugo Awards, the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, and several others were announced August 11, 2017 at Worldcon 75, the 75th World Science Fiction Convention, held in Helsinki, Finland, August 9-13, 2017.

Best Novel (2,078 nominating ballots)

WINNER: The Obelisk Gate, N.K. Jemisin (Orbit US; Orbit UK)

Best Novella (1,410) 

WINNER: Every Heart a Doorway, Seanan McGuire (Tor.com Publishing)

Best Novelette (1,097)

WINNER: “The Tomato Thief”, Ursula Vernon (Apex 1/5/16)

  • “The Art of Space Travel”, Nina Allan (Tor.com 7/27/16)
  • “Touring with the Alien”, Carolyn Ives Gilman (Clarkesworld 4/16)
  • Alien Stripper Boned from Behind by the T-Rex, Stix Hiscock (self-published)
  • The Jewel and Her Lapidary, Fran Wilde (Tor.com Publishing)
  • “You’ll Surely Drown Here If You Stay”, Alyssa Wong (Uncanny 5-6/16)

Best Short Story (1,275)

WINNER: “Seasons of Glass and Iron”, Amal El-Mohtar (The Starlit Wood)

  • “Our Talons Can Crush Galaxies”, Brooke Bolander (Uncanny 11-12/16)
  • “The City Born Great”, N.K. Jemisin (Tor.com 9/28/16)
  • “That Game We Played During the War, Carrie Vaughn (Tor.com 3/16/16)
  • “A Fist of Permutations in Lightning and Wildflowers”, Alyssa Wong (Tor.com 3/2/16)
  • “An Unimaginable Light”, John C. Wright (God, Robot)

Best Related Work (1,122)

WINNER: Words Are My Matter: Writings About Life and Books, 2000-2016, Ursula K. Le Guin (Small Beer)

Best Graphic Story (842)

WINNER: Monstress, Volume 1: Awakening, Marjorie Liu, art by Sana Takeda (Image)

Best Dramatic Presentation — Long (1,733)

WINNER: Arrival

  • Deadpool
  • Ghostbusters
  • Hidden Figures
  • Rogue One
  • Stranger Things, Season One

Best Dramatic Presentation — Short (1,159)

WINNER: The Expanse: “Leviathan Wakes”

  • Black Mirror: “San Junipero”
  • Doctor Who: “The Return of Doctor Mysterio”
  • Game of Thrones: “Battle of the Bastards”
  • Game of Thrones: “The Door”
  • Splendor & Misery

Best Professional Editor Short Form (951)

WINNER: Ellen Datlow

  • John Joseph Adams
  • Neil Clarke
  • Jonathan Strahan
  • Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas
  • Sheila Williams

Best Professional Editor Long Form (752)

WINNER: Liz Gorinsky

  • Vox Day
  • Sheila E. Gilbert
  • Devi Pillai
  • Miriam Weinberg
  • Navah Wolfe

 Best Professional Artist (817)

WINNER: Julie Dillon

  • Galen Dara
  • Chris McGrath
  • Victo Ngai
  • John Picacio
  • Sana Takeda

Best Semiprozine (857)

WINNER: Uncanny Magazine

  • Beneath Ceaseless Skies
  • Cirsova Heroic Fantasy and Science Fiction Magazine
  • GigaNotoSaurus
  • Strange Horizons
  • The Book Smugglers

Best Fanzine (610)

WINNER: Lady Business

  • Castalia House Blog
  • Journey Planet
  • nerds of a feather, flock together
  • Rocket Stack Rank
  • SF Bluestocking

Best Fancast (690)

WINNER: Tea & Jeopardy

  • The Coode Street Podcast
  • Ditch Diggers
  • Fangirl Happy Hour
  • Galactic Suburbia
  • The Rageaholic

Best Fan Writer (802)

WINNER: Abigail Nussbaum

  • Mike Glyer
  • Jeffro Johnson
  • Natalie Luhrs
  • Foz Meadows
  • Chuck Tingle 

Best Fan Artist (528)

WINNER: Elizabeth Leggett

  • Ninni Aalto
  • Vesa Lehtimäki
  • Likhain (M. Sereno)
  • Spring Schoenhuth
  • Steve Stiles

Best Series (1,393)

WINNER: The Vorkosigan Saga, Lois McMaster Bujold (Baen)

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer [Not a Hugo Award] (933)

WINNER: Ada Palmer

  • Sarah Gailey
  • J. Mulrooney
  • *Malka Older
  • *Laurie Penny
  • *Kelly Robson

The Big Heart Award was presented to Carolina Gomez. The First Fandom Hall of Fame Awards went to Les and Es Cole. Jim Harmon inducted into the First Fandom Posthumous Hall of Fame. Also presented were the previously announced Seiun Awards and the Atorox Award, a Finnish award for notable short story, to “Itkevan taipan temmppeli” [Temple of Heavenly Tears] by Maiju Ihalainen.

* Finalists in their 2nd year of eligibility.


Locus Magazine, Science Fiction Fantasy