2017 Baen Fantasy Adventure Award Winner

Winners for the fourth annual Baen Fantasy Adventure Award were announced:

  • Grand prize: “The Blue Widow”, J.P. Sullivan
  • First runner-up: “Dust of the Fallen”, Barbara Doran
  • Second runner-up: “And Not Go Hungry”, Laurie Tom


  • “Purity”, Jennifer R. Donohue
  • “Thirteen”, Teresa Lynn Michals
  • “Tracks of the Pi Nereske”, Wendy Nikel
  • “The Gift of the Afyr”, Wendy A. Simpson
  • “My Monster”, Camille Singer
  • “Truth”, Jonathan Steinhauer
  • “Calcaneus Bishop and the Seeds of Extinction”, William Wood

The contest focuses on adventure fantasy short stories. The grand prize includes publication on the Baen website, an engraved award, and an assortment of Baen books. The winner was honored at the Writer’s Symposium at Gen Con 50, August 19, 2017, at the Indiana Convention Center in Indianapolis IN.

For more information, including eligibility requirements, see the Baen Books website.