Shirley Jackson Awards Winners

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyThe 2016 Shirley Jackson Awards winners for outstanding achievement in horror, psychological suspense, and dark fantasy fiction were announced at a ceremony, July 16, 2017 at Readercon 28 at the Quincy Marriott in Quincy MA.


WINNER: The Girls, Emma Cline (Random House)


WINNER: The Ballad of Black Tom, Victor LaValle ( Publishing)


WINNER: “Waxy”, Camilla Grudova (Granta 9/16)

  • “Andy Kaufman Creeping Through the Trees”, Laird Barron (Autumn Cthulhu)
  • “Breaking Water”, Indrapramit Das ( 2/10/16)
  • “The Night Cyclist”, Stephen Graham Jones ( 9/21/16)
  • “Angel, Monster, Man”, Sam J. Miller (Nightmare 1/16)
  • “Presence”, Helen Oyeyemi (What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours)


WINNER: “Postcards from Natalie”, Carrie Laben (The Dark 7/16)

  • “The Apartments”, Karen Heuler (Other Places)
  • “Red”, Katie Knoll (The Masters Review 10/7/16)
  • “Things With Beards”, Sam J. Miller (Clarkesworld 6/16)
  • “Animal Parts”, Irenosen Okojie (Speak, Gigantular)


WINNER: A Natural History of Hell, Jeffrey Ford (Small Beer)


WINNER: The Starlit Wood, Dominik Parisien & Navah Wolfe, eds. (Saga)

In addition, a Board of Directors Award was presented for Ruth Franklin for her contribution in furthering the legacy of Shirley Jackson, namely in recognition of her first biography, Shirley Jackson: A Rather Haunted Life (Liveright/W.W. Norton, 2016).