2017 Rhysling Award Winners

The Science Fiction & Fantasy Poetry Association (SFPA) has announced the winners of the annual Rhysling Awards for SF, fantasy, and horror poetry in short and long form categories. This year’s winners are:


First Place
“George Tecumseh Sherman’s Ghosts”, Marge Simon (Silver Blade Fall 2016)

Second Place
“Build a Rocketship Contest: Alternative Class A Instructions and Suggestions”, Wendy Rathbone (Asimov’s 1/16)

Third Place (tie)
“The Box of Dust and Monsters”, Beth Cato (Devilfish Review 8/16)

“Godzilla vs. King Kong”, James S. Dorr (Dreams and Nightmares 103)

“Richard Feynman’s Commute”, Jon Wesick (The Were-Traveler 12/16)



First Place
“Rose Child”, Theodora Goss (Uncanny 11-12/16)

Second Place
“The Rime of the Eldritch Mariner”, Adam Bolivar (Spectral Realms Summer ’16)

Third Place
“Not Like This”, Mary Soon Lee (Apex 8/16)

Poems are chosen by the membership of the SFPA, who vote on a list of nominations made by individual members and published in the Rhysling Anthology. Winners are often reprinted in the annual Nebula Awards Anthology.