2017 Prometheus Awards Winners

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyThe Libertarian Futurist Society has announced the winner of the 2017 Prometheus Award for Best Novel, honoring works published in 2016 that “examine the meaning of freedom.”

Best Novel

They also announced the winner of the Hall of Fame Award, “given in recognition of a classic work of science fiction or fantasy with libertarian themes.”

Hall of Fame

  • “Coventry”, Robert Heinlein (Astounding 7/40)
  • “Starfog”, Poul Anderson (Analog 8/67)
  • “As Easy as A.B.C.”, Rudyard Kipling (London 3-4/1912)
  • “Conquest by Default”, Vernor Vinge (Analog 5/68)
  • “Harrison Bergeron”, Kurt Vonnegut (F&SF 10/61)
  • “With Folded Hands…”, Jack Williamson (Astounding 7/47)

As previously announced, a Special Award will be given to Freefall, a webcomic by Mark Stanley.

The awards will be presented in a ceremony during Worldcon 75 on August 11, 2017 in Helsinki Finland.

For more information, visit the Libertarian Futurist Society website.