2017 Eisner Awards

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyThe 2017 Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards were announced at Comic-Con International in San Diego on July 21, 2017. Winners of SF/F interest include:

Best Short Story

Best Single Issue/One-Shot

Best Continuing Series

  • Saga, Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples (Image)

Best Limited Series

  • The Vision, Tom King & Gabriel Walta (Marvel)

Best New Series

  • Black Hammer, Jeff Lemire & Dean Ormston (Dark Horse)

Best Publication for Kids (ages 9-12)

  • Ghosts, Raina Telgemeier (Scholastic)

Best Publication for Teens (ages 13-17)

  • The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, Ryan North & Erica Henderson (Marvel)

Best Graphic Album—New

Best Graphic Album—Reprint

  • Demon, Jason Shiga (First Second)

Best U.S. Edition of International Material

Best Penciller/Inker

  • Fiona Staples, Saga (Image)

Best Painter/Multimedia Artist (interior art)

Best Cover Artist (for multiple covers)

  • Fiona Staples, Saga (Image)

Best Coloring

  • Matt Wilson, Cry Havoc, Paper Girls, The Wicked + The Divine (Image); Black Widow, The Mighty Thor, Star-Lord (Marvel)

Best Lettering

  • Todd Klein, Clean Room, Dark Night, Lucifer (Vertigo/DC); Black Hammer (Dark Horse)

Best Academic/Scholarly Work

Eisner Hall of Fame Inductees

  • Gilbert Hernandez
  • Jaime Hernandez
  • George Pérez
  • Walt Simonson
  • Jim Starlin

For more information, and the complete list of winners, see the Comic-Con website.