2017 Ditmar and Other Australian Awards

The 2017 Ditmar Award winners for Australian SF have been announced, along with some other Australian awards:

Best Novel

Best Novella/Novelette

  • “Did We Break the End of the World?”, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Defying Doomsday)
  • “Going Viral”, Thoraiya Dyer (Dimension6 #8)
  • “By the Laws of Crab and Woman”, Jason Fischer (Review of Australian Fiction Volume 17, Issue 6)
  • “All the Colours of the Tomato”, Simon Petrie, (Dimension6 #9)
  • “Glass Slipper Scandal”, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Sheep Might Fly)
  • “Finnegan’s Field”, Angela Slatter (Tor.com 1/16)

Best Short Story

  • “There’s No Place Like Home”, Edwina Harvey (AntipodeanSF #221)
  • “Flame Trees”, T.R. Napper (Asimov’s 4-5/16)

Best Collected Work (tie)

Best Artwork

  • Shauna O’Meara for illustration of Lackington’s #12

Best Fan Publication in Any Medium

  • 2016 Australian SF Snapshot, Greg Chapman, Tehani Croft, et. al.
  • Earl Grey Editing Services, Elizabeth Fitzgerald
  • Galactic Suburbia, Alisa Krasnostein, Alex Pierce, & Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • The Writer and the Critic, Kirstyn McDermott & Ian Mond
  • Galactic Chat, Alexandra Pierce, David McDonald, Sarah Parker, Helen Stubbs, Mark Webb, & Sean Wright
  • The Coode Street Podcast, Gary K. Wolfe & Jonathan Strahan

Best Fan Writer

  • Foz Meadows
  • James “Jocko” Allen
  • Aidan Doyle
  • Bruce Gillespie
  • Tansy Rayner Roberts

Best New Talent

  • Marlee Jane Ward
  • T.R. Napper

William Atheling Jr. Award for Criticism or Review

  • Essays and reviews in Weird Fiction Review, Kat Clay
  • “Revisiting Pern: The great McCaffrey reread” series, Tehani Croft & Marisol Dunham
  • Reviews in Tsana’s Reads and Reviews, Tsana Dolichva
  • Reviews in The Hysterical Hamster, Ian Mond
  • Reviews in Randomly Yours, Alex, Alexandra Pierce
  • History and Fiction: Writers, their Research, Worlds and Stories, Gillian Polack (Peter Lang)

No award was given in the Best Fan Artist category.

Several other awards were also presented:

Peter McNamara Achievement Award

  • Rose Mitchell

A. Bertram Chandler Award for Outstanding Achievement in Science Fiction

  • Bill Wright

The awards were presented on June 11, 2017 at Continuum 13, the 56th Australian National Science Fiction Convention held in Melbourne, Australia.