Erlbruch Wins Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award

German artist and writer Wolf Erlbruch is the winner of the 2017 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award, honoring children’s and young-adult literature. The award, which is presented by the Swedish Arts Council, is accompanied by a cash prize of 5 million krona ($555,100), and is the world’s largest financial award for children’s and young-adult works.

Erlbruch has written or illustrated more than 50 books, including dark fairy tale Die Menschenfresserin (1996) with Valérie Dayre, Duck, Death and the Tulip (2007), and The Bear Who Wasn’t There and the Fabulous Forest (2014) with Oren Lavie.

The jury stated that Erlbruch’s work “makes existential questions accessible and manageable for readers of all ages. With humour and warmth deeply rooted in humanist ideals, his work presents the universe on our scale.” The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award will be presented to Erlbruch at the Stockholm Concert Hall in Sweden on May 29, 2017.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

©Locus Magazine. Copyrighted material may not be republished without permission of LSFF.