2017 Writers & Illustrators of the Future Awards

The 2017 Writers of the Future Golden Pen Award went to Jake Marley for his story “Acquisition”. The Illustrators of the Future Golden Brush Award went to Michael Michera for his illustration of C.L. Kagmi’s story “The Drake Equation”.

They were honored, along with the other 2016 quarterly contest winners, at a ceremony held April 2, 2017 in Los Angeles CA at the Wilshire Ebell Theatre. All winners received trophies, and Golden Awards winners were presented with checks for $5,000 each. All the winning stories and artwork are published in Writers of the Future Volume 33.

Author Mike Resnick received the L. Ron Hubbard Lifetime Achievement Award as “Science Fiction and Fantasy’s all-time leading award-winner for short fiction, authoring 62 novels, over 250 short stories and editing more than 40 anthologies.”

For more information, see the Writers of the Future website.