2017 World Fantasy Awards Judges Announced

The judges for the 2017 World Fantasy Awards have been empaneled. All forms of fantasy qualify. Only living authors and editors are eligible. All books must have a 2016 publication date, and all magazines, a 2016 cover date.

The judges will read and consider eligible materials between now and June 1, 2017 (the earlier, the better). To be considered for awards, all materials must be received by all five judges and Peter Dennis Pautz by June 1, 2017. The judges are:

*Elizabeth Engstrom
298 Hamiltonian Drive
Eugene OR 97401 USA

§**Daryl Gregory
3124 Sylvan Avenue
Oakland CA  94602-3956 USA

*Nalo Hopkinson
1447 7th Street #1
Riverside CA 92507-4510 USA

§*Juliet Marillier
PO Box 189
Guildford WA 6935 AUSTRALIA

*Betsy Mitchell
884 Lincoln Pl.
Brooklyn NY 11213 USA

Judging is often easier with hard copies, but those judges marked with * can accept PDFs; ** can accept mobi; *** both; § can accept EPUB. Packages should be labeled “Promotional materials — not for sale or resale — no commercial value — World Fantasy Awards materials.” A copy should also go to:

Peter Dennis Pautz, President
World Fantasy Awards Association
PO Box 43
Mukilteo WA 98275-0043

All forms of fantasy are eligible, e.g. high, epic, dark, contemporary, literary. Categories: Life Achievement; Best Novel; Best Novella (10,001 to 40,000 words); Best Short Story; Best Anthology; Best Collection; Best Artist; Special Award—Professional; Special Award—NonProfessional. Please note that the nominees in the Life Achievement category will not be released, though the winners will be announced well before the awards banquet. All questions pertaining to the convention should be directed to the Convention Chair.

The awards will be presented at the World Fantasy Convention, November 2-5, 2017, at the Wyndham Riverwalk, 111 East Pecan Street, San Antonio, TX 78205, USA; 210-354-2800. See the World Fantasy 2017 site or the World Fantasy convention home page for more.