2017 ALA Awards

The American Library Association (ALA) announced the winners of several awards during their Midwinter Meeting at the Georgia World Congress Center in Atlanta GA, January 20-24, 2017.

The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead (Doubleday) won the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence.

The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill (Algonquin) won the John Newbery Medal “for the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature.” The Inquisitor’s Tale: Or, The Three Magical Children and Their Holy Dog by Adam Gidwitz (Dutton) was named a Newbery Honor Book.

Scythe by Neal Shusterman (Simon & Schuster) was named a Michael L. Printz Award Honor Book for “excellence in literature written for young adults.”

Anna and the Swallow Man by Gavriel Savit (Listening Library) was the Odyssey Award winner for best audiobook. Nimona by Noelle Stevenson (HarperAudio) was one of the 2017 Odyssey Honor Audiobooks.

Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard: The Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan (Disney-Hyperion) won the Stonewall Book Award for “books of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience.”

Several books of genre interest won Alex Awards, given to “the 10 best adult books that appeal to teen audiences”:

For a full list of winners and honor books, see the ALA website.