2016 SF&F Hall of Fame Inductees

The Museum of Pop Culture (MoPOP) announced the 2016 inductees to the Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame. Eligibility has been expanded “to recognize the genre’s most impactful creations,” and the 2016 inductees are authors Terry Pratchett and Douglas Adams, along with Star Trek  and Blade Runner.

In honor of the museum’s 20th anniversary, 20 additional creators and works were inducted as well:


  • Margaret Atwood
  • Keith David
  • Guillermo del Toro
  • Terry Gilliam
  • Jim Henson
  • Jack Kirby
  • Madeleine L’Engle
  • C.S. Lewis
  • H.P. Lovecraft
  • Leonard Nimoy
  • George Orwell
  • Rumiko Takahashi
  • John Williams


  • 2001: A Space Odyssey
  • Dungeons & Dragons
  • The Matrix
  • Myst
  • The Princess Bride
  • Wonder Woman
  • The X-Files

Nominations are submitted by MoPOP members and the final inductees are chosen by a panel of award-winning authors, artists, editors, publishers, and film professionals. A new Hall of Fame exhibit at MoPOP will celebrate current and past inductees in an opening event March 4, 2017.

The Science Fiction Hall of Fame was founded in 1996 and then relocated from the Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction and Fantasy at the University of  Kansas to its permanent home at MoPOP (formerly EMP) in 2004.