2016 Tiptree Fellowship Winners

Mia Sereno and Porpentine Charity Heartscape are the 2016 recipients of the Tiptree Fellowship. Each winner will receive a $500 grant, and work produced as a result of this support will be recognized and promoted by the Tiptree Award.

The fellowship is designed for individuals “doing work that is changing the way we think about gender through speculative narrative – maybe in a form we would recognize as the science fiction or fantasy genre, maybe in some other way….”

Honorable mentions went to K. Tempest Bradford, Emily Coon, and Marianne Kirby. The selection committee was composed of 2015 Tiptree Fellows Elizabeth LaPensee and Walidah Imarisha; Tiptree Award winner Nike Sulway; and Tiptree Motherboard member Alexis Lothian.

For more information, see the official James Tiptree, Jr. Literary Award website.