2016 Manchester Writing Competition Winners

Winners of the Manchester Writing Competition were announced November 25, 2016 at a ceremony in the medieval Baronial Hall at Chetham’s Library in Manchester. The competition is “designed to encourage new work and seek out the best creative writing from across the world.”

The winning story was by D.W. Wilson, who received a £10,000 prize. Several stories of possible genre interest also made the shortlist for the Manchester Fiction Prize:

  • “All This Concrete Beneath Your Feet”, D.W. Wilson
  • “The God Quetzalcoatl Has Retired and Now Runs a Pub in North Manchester”, Michael Conley
  • “Sixteen Feet”, Erinna Mettler
  • “The Dark Instruments”, Laura Pocock
  • “Succubus”, Lucy Ribchester
  • “The First Hard Rain”, Sophie Wellstood

Additionally, Dante Di Stefano and Rebecca Tamás split the £10,000 Manchester Poetry Prize.

This year’s Fiction Prize was judged by Janice Galloway, Juliet Pickering, and Nicholas Royle. The Poetry Prize was judged by Sarah Howe, Helen Mort, and Adam O’Riordan.

For the full shortlist, and to read the shortlisted works, see the official website.