Prime Minister’s Literary Awards Shortlists

The Prime Minister and Arts Minister of Australia announced the shortlists for the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards on October 17, 2016. The awards “celebrate outstanding literary talent in Australia and the valuable contribution Australian literature and history makes to the nation’s cultural and intellectual life.” Each award category is allocated a A$100,000 prize pool, with the winner receiving A$80,000 and each runner-up receiving A$5,000. Finalists of genre interest follow.


Young Adult Fiction

Awards are also given in poetry, non-fiction, Australian history, and children’s fiction categories. Finalists are selected by a panel of 12 judges, and the Prime Minister makes the final decision. This year’s judges are Louise Adler, Peter Coleman, Kate Colley, Des Cowley, Ross Fitzgerald, Jamie Grant, Robert Gray, Gerard Henderson, Ida Lichter, Mark MacLeod, Irini Savvides, and Mike Shuttleworth. Winners will be announced later this year.