2016 British Fantasy Awards Winners

The British Fantasy Society announced the British Fantasy Awards Winners on September 25, 2016 during an awards ceremony at FantasyCon 2016 at the Grand and Royal Hotels in Scarborough, England. The winners are:

Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award)

Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award)

  • Rawblood, Catriona Ward (Weidenfeld & Nicholson)

Best Novella

Best Short Fiction

  • “Fabulous Beasts”, Priya Sharma (Tor.com 7/27/15 )
  • “When the Moon Man Knocks”, Cate Gardner (Black Static 10-11/15)
  • Strange Creation, Frances Kay (Tenebris Nyxies)
  • “The Blue Room”, V.H. Leslie (Skein and Bone)
  • “Dirt Land”, Ralph Robert Moore (Black Static 11-12/15)
  • “Hippocampus”, Adam Nevill (Terror Tales of the Ocean)

Best Collection

Best Anthology

Best Independent Press

  • Angry Robot (Marc Gascoigne)
  • The Alchemy Press (Peter Coleborn and Jan Edwards)
  • Fox Spirit (Adele Wearing)
  • Newcon (Ian Whates)

Best Non-Fiction

Best Magazine / Periodical

  • Beneath Ceasless Skies
  • Black Static
  • Holdfast Magazine
  • Interzone

Best Artist

  • Julie Dillon
  • Ben Baldwin
  • Vincent Chong
  • Evelinn Enoksen
  • Sarah Anne Langton
  • Jeffrey Alan Love

Best Comic / Graphic Novel

  • Bitch Planet (#2-5), Kelly Sue DeConnick, Valentine De Landro, Robert Wilson IV & Cris Peter (Image)
  • Red Sonja (#14-18), Gail Simone & Walter Geovani (Dynamite)
  • Nimona, Noelle Stevenson (HarperTeen)
  • Saga (#25-32), Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples (Image)
  • Ms. Marvel, Vol 2: Generation Why, G. Willow Wilson, Jacob Wyatt & Adrian Alphona (Marvel)

Best Film/Television Production

  • Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell
  • Inside No. 9: The Trial of Elizabeth Gadge
  • Jessica Jones: “AKA WWJD?”
  • Mad Max: Fury Road
  • Midwinter of the Spirit
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Best Newcomer (the Sydney J. Bounds Award)

Winners were chosen by jury, except for the special award (the Karl Edward Wagner Award) which is chosen by the BFS committee.