2016 Campbell and Sturgeon Awards Winners

Radiomen by Eleanor Lerman (The Permanent Press) is this year’s John W. Campbell Memorial Award winner for the best science fiction novel published in 2015, and Kelly Link’s “The Game of Smash and Recovery” (Strange Horizons 10/17/15) is the winner of the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for the best short fiction of 2015.

Going Dark by Linda Nagata (Mythic Island/Saga) and The Thing Itself by Adam Roberts (Gollancz) tied as second place winners for the Campbell, and third place was The Water Knife by Paolo Bacigalupi (Orbit; Knopf).

“The New Mother” by Eugene Fischer (Asimov’s 4-5/15) was the second place winner for the Sturgeon Award, and “Gypsy” by Carter Scholz (F&SF 11-12/15) took third place.

The awards were presented during the Campbell Conference Awards Banquet, held at MidAmeriCon II, the 74th World Science Fiction Convention, on August 18, 2016 at the Kansas City Convention Center in Kansas City MO.

Other finalists were:

John W. Campbell Memorial Award

Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award

  • “And You Shall Know Her by the Trail of Dead”, Brooke Bolander (Lightspeed 2/15)
  • “The Four Thousand, the Eight Hundred”, Greg Egan (Asimov’s 10/15)
  • “Folding Beijing”, Hao Jingfang (Uncanny Magazine 1-2/15)
  • “Emergence”, Gwyneth Jones (Meeting Infinity)
  • “Damage”, David D. Levine (Tor.com 01/21/15)
  • “Botanica Veneris: Thirteen Papercuts by Ida Countess Rathangan”, Ian McDonald (Old Venus)
  • “Our Lady of the Open Road”, Sarah Pinsker (Asimov’s 6/15)
  • “The Three Resurrections of Jessica Churchill”, Kelly Robson (Clarkesworld 2/15)
  • “Avery Cates: The Walled City” Jeff Somers (self-published 6/15)