2016 SFRA Awards

The Science Fiction Research Association announced the winners of the SFRA Awards at the 2016 Science Fiction Research Association conference, June 27-30, at the University of Liverpool, UK.

Pioneer Award (Best Critical Essay-length Work)

“‘Shutter-Stop Flash-Bulb Strange’: GMOs and the Aesthetics of Scale in Paolo Bacigalupi’s The Windup Girl“, Scott Selisker (Science Fiction Studies 11/15)

Pilgrim Award (Lifetime Contributions to SF/F Scholarship)

Mark Bould

Thomas D. Clareson Award (Outstanding Service & Promotion of SF/F)

Farah Mendlesohn

Mary K. Bray Award (Best Essay, Interview, or Extended Review in SFRA Review)

Amy Ransom

Student Paper Award (Best Student Paper Presented at Previous SFRA Conference)

Dagmar Van Engen

The SFRA Awards Committee remarks and acceptance speeches will be published in a forthcoming SFRA Review. For more information, visit the SFRA website.