2015 Shirley Jackson Awards Winners

The 2015 Shirley Jackson Awards were presented on July 10, 2016 at Readercon 27, Conference on Imaginative Literature, in Quincy MA. Readercon guests of honor Catherynne M. Valente and Tim Powers hosted the ceremony.

The winners for the 2015 Shirley Jackson Awards are:




  • “Even Clean Hands Can Do Damage”, Steve Duffy (Supernatural Tales #30, Autumn)
  • “The Thyme Fiend”, Jeffrey Ford (Tor.com 3/15)
  • “The Briskwater Mare”, Deborah Kalin (Cherry Crow Children)
  • “The Deepwater Bride”, Tamsyn Muir (F&SF 7-8/15)
  • “Fabulous Beasts”, Priya Sharma (Tor.com 7/15)

Short Fiction

  • “Seven Minutes in Heaven”, Nadia Bulkin (Aickman’s Heirs)
  • “A Beautiful Memory”, Shannon Peavey (Apex 3/15)
  • “Wilderness”, Letitia Trent (Exigencies)
  • “Hungry Daughters of Starving Mothers”, Alyssa Wong (Nightmare 10/15)

Single-Author Collection

Edited Anthology

In recognition of the legacy of Shirley Jackson’s writing, and with permission of the author’s estate, The Shirley Jackson Awards, Inc. was established for outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic. The awards are voted upon by a jury of professional writers, editors, critics, and academics, with input from a Board of Advisors. The 2015 jurors were Livia Llewellyn, Robert Shearman, Simon Kurt Unsworth, Bev Vincent, and Kaaron Warren. The awards are given for the best work published in the preceding calendar year.