2016 Sunburst Awards Longlist

The jury’s selections for the 2016 Sunburst Awards for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic were announced June 8, 2016:

Adult Fiction

Young Adult Fiction

Short Story

  • “With One Shoe”, Karen Abrahamson (Playground of Lost Toys)
  • “La Héron”, Charlotte Ashley (F&SF 3-4/15)
  • “The Glad Hosts”, Rebecca Campbell (Lackington’s #7)
  • “Carnival of Colours”, Evelyn Deshane (Only Disconnect)
  • “Stuck in the Past”, Mike Donoghue (Abyss & Apex #54)
  • “The Harsh Light of Morning”, David J. Fuller (Wrestling With Gods: Tesseracts Eighteen)
  • “The Zzzombie Apocalypse”, Mark Hill (The Time It Happened)
  • “Person to Person”, Patrick Johanneson (Daily Science Fiction 5/18/15)
  • “Hide and Seek”, Catherine A. MacLeod (Playground of Lost Toys)
  • “Lacrimosa”, Silvia Moreno-Garcia (Nightmare 11/15)
  • “Goodbye is a Mouthful of Water”, Dominik Parisien (Playground of Lost Toys)
  • “Spider Moves the World”, Dominik Parisien (Lackington’s #6)
  • “Two-Year Man”, Kelly Robson (Asimov’s 8/15)
  • “Two Steps Forward”, Holly Schofield (Scarecrow)
  • “Get the Message”, Peter Wendt (Second Contacts)

Finalists will be announced July 5, and winners on September 14.  Each winner will receive a cash prize of $1,000 and a hand-crafted sunburst medallion. The jurors for the 2016 award are Timothy Anderson, Sylvie Bérard, Virginia O’Dine, Dale Sproule, and Myna Wallin.

For more information, see the Sunburst Award Society.