2016 Rhysling Award Winners

The Science Fiction Poetry Association (SFPA) has announced the winners of the annual Rhysling Awards for SF, fantasy, and horror poetry in short and long form categories. This year’s winners are:


First Place
“Time Travel Vocabulary Problems”, Ruth Berman (Dreams and Nightmares 100)

Second Place
“Tech Support for the Apocalypse”, F. J. Bergmann (Dreams and Nightmares 101)

Third Place
“An Introduction to Alternate Universes: Theory and Practice”, Sandra J. Lindow (Gyroscope Review 16:1)


First Place (tie)
“It Begins With A Haunting”, Krysada Panusith Phounsiri (Dance Among Elephants)

“Keziah”, Ann K. Schwader (Dark Energies)

Second Place
“Chronopatetic”, F. J. Bergmann (Dreams and Nightmares 100)

Third Place (tie)
from “Sunspots”, Simon Barraclough (Poetry 12/15)

“The White Planet”, Albert Goldbarth (Boulevard 31:1)

Poems are chosen by the membership of the SFPA, who vote on a list of nominations made by individual members and published in the Rhysling Anthology. Winners are often reprinted in the annual Nebula Awards Anthology.