2016 Chesley Awards Finalists

Finalists for the 2016 Chesley Awards, given by the Association of Science Fiction & Fantasy Artists (ASFA), have been announced:

Best Cover Illustration – Hardback Book

  • Richard Anderson for The Dinosaur Lords, Victor Milán (Tor)
  • Lius Lasahido for Hannu Rajaniemi: Collected Fiction, Hannu Rajaniemi (Tachyon)
  • Todd Lockwood for Voyage of the Basilisk, Mark Brennan (Tor)
  • Cynthia Sheppard for Karen Memory, Elizabeth Bear (Tor)
  • Sam Webber for Dune, Frank Herbert (The Folio Society)

Best Cover Illustration – Paperback Book

  • Julie Dillon for The Very Best of Kate Elliott, Kate Elliott (Tachyon)
  • Tyler Jacobson for Beyond the Pool of Stars, Howard Andrew Jones (Tor)
  • Jeffrey Alan Love for Wolfhound Century, Peter Higgins (Gollancz)
  • David Palumbo for Binti, Nnedi Okorafor (Tor.com)
  • John Picacio for Invasion of the Body Snatchers, Jack Finney (Simon & Schuster)

Best Cover Illustration – Magazine

  • Maurizio Manzieri for Asimov’s (10-11/15)
  • Reiko Murakami for Lightspeed #63 (8/15)
  • Tran Nguyen for Uncanny #4 (5-6/15)
  • Greg Ruth for Alabaster: The Good, the Bad, and the Bird #1 (Dark Horse Comics 12/15)
  • shichigoro-shingo for Clarkesworld #109 (10/15)

Best Interior Illustration

  • Galen Dara for “Tuesdays with Molakesh the Destroyer”, Megan Grey (Fireside 1/15)
  • Marcel Mercado for Southlands Bestiary (Pathfinder RPG) (Kobold Press)
  • Peter Mohrbacher for Angelarium: Book of Emanations, Eli Minaya & Peter Mohrbacher (Magnetic)
  • Tran Nguyen for “Transition Management Survey” (Chief Investment Officer 9/15)
  • Sam Weber for Dune, Frank Herbert (The Folio Society)

Best Color Work – Unpublished

  • Joseph Bellofatto for “Star Ship” (oil)
  • Donato Giancola for “Beren and Luthien in the Court of Thingal and Melian” (oil)
  • Wayne Haag for “Desert Wreck” (oil)
  • Jessica TC Lee for “Enchanted” (digital)
  • Elizabeth Leggett for “After Hours” (digital)
  • Mark Poole for “Memories” (oil)
  • Eric Velhagen for “Felines” (oil)

Best Monchrome Work – Unpublished

  • Rovina Cai for “Cold Wind”
  • Jeremy Enecio for “Progeny” (graphite on moleskin)
  • Travis Lewis for “Symbiosis” (graphite)
  • Mark Molchan for “The Return” (graphite)
  • Ruth Sanderson for “Invoking the Dragon” (ink & scratchboard)
  • Chris Seaman for “Family Portraithausen” (acrylic)
  • Allen Williams for “Bound” (graphite & gold leaf accent)

Best Three-Dimensional Art

  • Devon Dorrity for “Flight of the Merrow” (clay & bronze)
  • Thomas Kuebler for “Adelpha and Her Sister” (mixed)
  • Stelios Mousarris for “Inception Coffee Table” (wood)
  • Forest Rogers for “The Morrigan” (mixed)
  • Virginie Ropars for “Okunoshima” (mixed)
  • Vincent Villafranca for “Dark Day for the Metal Heads” (bronze)

Best Product Illustration

  • Linda Adair for “Adolescence” (IlluXcon 8 promo art)
  • Mitchell Bentley for Mitchell Davidson Bentley 2015 Calendar (Albon Lake & Atomic Fly Studios)
  • Rovina Cai for “Black Hole” (Cosmos Tarot & Oracle Deck illustration from The Light Grey Art Lab)
  • Jacob Murray for A Game of Thrones: The Card Game (2nd ed. box art, Fantasy Flight Games)
  • John Picacio for “El Arbol” (Loteria card illustration, Lone Boy)
  • Magali Villeneuve for George R.R. Martin: Song of Ice and Fire 2016 Calendar (Bantam)

Best Gaming – Related Illustration

  • Clint Cearley for “Mind Rot” (Wizards of the Coast)
  • Vincent Proce for “Guardian Automaton” (Wizards of the Coast)
  • Anna Steinbauer for “Blessed Spirits” (Wizards of the Coast)
  • Ryan Yee for “Fruit of the First Tree” (Wizards of the Coast)
  • Min Yum for “Sandblast” (Wizards of the Coast)

Best Art Director

  • Neil Clarke for Clarkesworld
  • Irene Gallo for Tor
  • Jeremy Jarvis for Wizards of the Coast
  • Elizabeth Leggett for Lightspeed
  • Lauren Panepinto for Orbit & Muddy Colors contributor
  • Betsy Wollheim & Sheila Gilbert for DAW

Lifetime Artistic Achievement

  • Kinuko Y. Craft
  • David A. Hardy
  • Gregory Manchess
  • Iain McCaig
  • Wendy Pini
  • Drew Struzan

The winners will be announced at the Chesley Awards ceremony during MidAmericCon 2, the 74th World Science Fiction Convention, August 17-21, 2016 at the Kansas City Convention Center in Kansas City. For more, see the ASFA website.