Dragon Con Announces the Dragon Awards

Dragon Con, the “largest multi-media, popular culture convention focusing on science fiction & fantasy, gaming, comics, literature, art, music, and film” has announced the creation of the Dragon Awards.

Described as a “fans-focused” process, voting is open to “all of the fans of all forms of science fiction.”

Nominations will be accepted from “early April until July 25,” with a final ballot to be announced August 2, 2016. For eligibility, “the book, comic, game, movie, or, at least, one episode of any series has to have been released Between April 1, 2015, and the close of nominations, July 25, 2016.”

The Dragon Awards categories for 2016 are:

  • Best SF novel
  • Best fantasy novel (including paranormal)
  • Best YA/middle grade novel
  • Best military science fiction or fantasy novel
  • Best alternate history novel
  • Best apocalyptic novel
  • Best horror novel
  • Best comic book
  • Best graphic novel
  • Best episode in a continuing science fiction or fantasy series, TV or internet
  • Best science fiction or fantasy movie
  • Best science fiction or fantasy PC/console game
  • Best science fiction or fantasy mobile game
  • Best science fiction or fantasy board game
  • Best science fiction or fantasy miniatures/collectable card/role-playing game

For more information see the official press release or the Dragon Con site.