2016 SF Hall of Fame Nominees

The Experience Music Project Museum (EMP) has announced the 2016 Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame nominees in “Creator” and “Creation” categories. Voting is open to the public from Wednesday April 27 to May 11, 2016. Votes can be cast at the EMP website.

The nominees for both categories are:


  • Douglas Adams
  • Jorge Luis Borges
  • Neil Gaiman
  • Aldous Huxley
  • Stephen King
  • Stan Lee
  • Terry Pratchett
  • Nichelle Nichols
  • J.K. Rowling
  • Lana & Lilly Wachowski


  • 1984, George Orwell
  • Blade Runner, directed by Ridley Scott
  • Brave New World, Aldous Huxley
  • Frankenstein, Mary Shelley
  • the Harry Potter series, J.K. Rowling
  • the Star Wars media franchise created by George Lucas
  • the Star Trek media franchise created by Gene Roddenberry
  • “Space Oddity”, David Bowie
  • The Twilight Zone TV series created by Rod Serling
  • A Wrinkle in Time, Madeleine L’Engle

According to the official press release:

In anticipation of the Hall of Fame’s 20th anniversary, EMP is expanding the exhibit to include two categories: Creators and Creations. After inviting the public to submit their nominations, a committee of science fiction and fantasy experts from across the media landscape narrowed down this list from nearly 2,000 submissions to the final twenty nominees.

In the past, only EMP members could submit nominations, but this year the process was made public to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the SF Hall of Fame. Winners will be announced fall 2016 during EMP’s Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame celebration.

The Science Fiction Hall of Fame was founded in 1996 and then relocated from the Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction and Fantasy at the University of Kansas to its permanent home at EMP Museum in 2004. For more information see the EMP website.