Pratchett Receives Solstice Award

The Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) has announced that the late Sir Terry Pratchett will receive the 2016 Kate Wilhelm Solstice Award.

The Solstice award, created in 2008 and given at the discretion of the SFWA president with the majority approval of the Board of Directors, is for individuals, living or dead, who have had “a significant impact on the science fiction or fantasy landscape, and is particularly intended for those who have consistently made a major, positive difference within the speculative fiction field.” Previous winners include Octavia E. Butler, Alice B. Sheldon (AKA James Tiptree, Jr.), Tom Doherty, Carl Sagan, Stanley Schmidt, Michael Whelan, Kate Wilhelm, Terri Windling, Donald A. Wollheim, and John Clute.

Pratchett will be honored at the 2016 Nebula Awards Weekend, the 50th anniversary of the Awards, to be held May 12-15, 2016, at the Palmer House Hilton in Chicago IL.

For more, see the SFWA website.