2016 Ditmar Finalists

Finalists for the 2016 Ditmar Awards for excellence in Australian SF have been announced.

Best Novel

Best Novella or Novelette

  • “The Cherry Crow Children of Haverny Wood”, Deborah Kalin (Cherry Crow Children)
  • “The Miseducation of Mara Lys”, Deborah Kalin (Cherry Crow Children)
  • “The Wages of Honey”, Deborah Kalin (Cherry Crow Children)
  • “Fake Geek Girl”, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Review of Australian Fiction Volume 14, Issue 4)
  • Of Sorrow and Such, Angela Slatter (Tor.com)
  • “Hot Rods”, Cat Sparks (Lightspeed 3/15)

Best Short Story

Best Collected Work

Best Artwork

  • Rovina Cai for the illustration of “Tom, Thom” (Tor.com)
  • Kathleen Jennings for the cover of Bloodlines (Ticonderoga )
  • Kathleen Jennings for the cover and internal artwork of Cranky Ladies of History (FableCroft)
  • Shauna O’Meara for the cover of The Never Never Land (Canberra Speculative Fiction Guild)
  • Shaun Tan for illustrations in The Singing Bone (Allen & Unwin)

Best Fan Publication in Any Medium

  • The Angriest, Grant Watson
  • The Coode Street Podcast, Jonathan Strahan & Gary K. Wolfe
  • Galactic Suburbia, Alisa Krasnostein, Alexandra Pierce & Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • SF Commentary, Bruce Gillespie
  • The Writer and the Critic, Kirstyn McDermott & Ian Mond

Best Fan Writer

  • Tsana Dolichva
  • Foz Meadows
  • Ian Mond
  • Alexandra Pierce
  • Katharine Stubbs
  • Grant Watson

Best Fan Artist

  • Kathleen Jennings
  • Belinda Morris

Best New Talent

  • Liz Barr
  • T.R. Napper
  • DK Mok
  • Rivqa Rafael

William Atheling Jr. Award for Criticism or Review

  • The Reviewing New Who series, David McDonald, Tansy Rayner Roberts, and Tehani Wessely
  • The Squeeing over Supergirl series, David McDonald & Tehani Wessely
  • Letters to Tiptree, Alexandra Pierce & Alisa Krasnostein, eds. (Twelfth Planet)
  • The Rereading the Empire Trilogy series, Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • “Sara Kingdom dies at the end”, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Companion Piece)
  • “SF Women of the 20th Century”, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Tansyrr.com)


The Ditmar Awards will be presented at Contact 2016, the Australian National SF Convention, in Brisbane Australia March 25-28, 2016. The Norma K. Hemming Award for “excellence in the exploration of race, gender, sexuality, class and disability” and the A. Bertram Chandler Award for “outstanding achievement in science fiction” will also be presented.