Canopus Award Winners

Winners of the inaugural 100 Year Starship (100YSS) Canopus Award for Excellence in Interstellar Writing were announced October 30, 2015 at the 100 Year Starship Public Symposium at the Santa Clara Marriott in Santa Clara CA. Canopus Awards recognize works “with a primary component of interstellar exploration or travel,” and winners are selected by a panel of judges.

Previously Published Long-Form Fiction (40,000 words or more)

Previously Published Short-Form Fiction (between 1,000 and 40,000 words)

  • “The Waves”, Ken Liu (Asimov’s 12/12)
  • “Twenty Lights to the Land of Snow”, Michael Bishop (Going Interstellar)
  • “Dreamboat”, Robin Wyatt Dunn (Perihelion 7/12/15)
  • “Stars that Make Dark Heaven Light”, Sharon Roest (L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future Volume 31)
  • “Race for Arcadia”, Alex Shvartsman (Mission: Tomorrow)
  • “Homesick”, Debbie Urbanski (Motherboard forthcoming 2015)
  • “Planet Lion”, Catherine M. Valente (Uncanny 5-6/15)

Original Fiction (1,000-5,000 words)

  • “Everett’s Awakening”, Yelcho
  • “His Holiness John XXIV about Father Angelo Baymasecchi’s Diary”, Óscar Garrido González
  • “Groundwork”, G. M. Nair
  • “The Disease of Time”, Joseph Schmidt
  • “Project Fermi”, Michael Turgeon
  • “Landfall”, Jon F. Ziegler

Original Non-Fiction (1,000-5,000 words)

  • “Finding Earth 2.0 from the Focus of the Solar Gravitational Lens”, Louis Friedman & Slava Turyshev
  • “Why Interstellar Travel?”, Jeffrey Nosanov

Slow Bullets, Alastair Reynolds (Tachyon) was originally a finalist in the Previously Published Long-Form Fiction category, but the author withdrew it because it is actually a novella, and too short for the category.

For more information about 100 Year Starship and the Canopus Awards, see their official website.